The task force was formed to consider whether relocating the state’s only law school would be in the best interest of the students, the University, and the State of South Dakota. Rep. Mark Mickelson, R-Sioux Falls, will chair the Special Law School Task Force.

Twelve additional members including students and faculty members have been appointed. They are:
- Harvey Jewett, Regent Emeritus, South Dakota Board of Regents
- Conrad Adam, Student Regent, South Dakota Board of Regents
- John Bastian, Regent, South Dakota Board of Regents
- David Gilbertson, Chief Justice, South Dakota Supreme Court
- Julie Greenfield, Attorney, Gallardo Trust Company
- Glen Herrick, EVP and CFO, Meta Financial Group
- Christine Hutton, Professor, USD School of Law
- Mark Meierhenry, Attorney, Meierhenry Sargent, LLP
- Bob Morris, Attorney, Day Morris Law Firm
- Morgan Nelson, President, USD Student Bar Association
- Jennifer Trucano, CEO, Rapid City Medical Center
- Nate Welch, Executive Director, Vermillion Chamber & Development Corporation

There will be an opportunity for public testimony. The task force encourages those interested in testifying to submit their questions and testimony in advance of the meeting to

For updates, meeting times and information on the task force visit the USD Law School Task Force page at


Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email
Contact Website website