Aubrey Sea of Sioux City, Iowa received a first place in Women’s Musical Theatre. She also received second place in Freshman Women’s Classical. Matt Black of Yankton, S.D. was first in Men’s Musical Theatre and second in Freshman Men’s Classical, and Ryan Landis of Rapid City, S.D. received first place in Graduate Classical. Sara Otteman of Yankton received a first place in Senior Women’s Classical.

In all, there were 99 entries from USD, South Dakota State University, Northern State University and Black Hills State. Singers competed in classical and musical theatre divisions. Additional USD students singing at the NATS competition included Ashley Hogarth of Sioux Falls, S.D., second place in Sophomore Women’s Classical; Amanda Rich of South Sioux City, Neb., second place in Junior Women’s Classical and second place in Women’s Musical Theatre; Kristin Edwards of Aberdeen, S.D., second place in Senior Women’s Classical; Jared Mogen of Sioux Falls, S.D., second place in Men’s Musical Theatre; and Laura Bertschinger of Creighton, Neb., third place in Women’s Musical Theatre and honorable mention in Senior Woman’s Classical. Cody Perk of Yankton (Sophomore Men’s Classical) and Ashley Mazur of Paullina, Iowa (Senior Women’s Classical) each received honorable mention.

Mogen and Otteman are students of Brandon Hendrickson, D.M.A., assistant professor of music (voice/opera) at USD, while the remaining singers are students of Tracelyn Gesteland, D.M.A., assistant professor of music (voice/opera at USD). Students participating at NATS from The U were also accompanied on the piano by USD students Scott Arens of Yankton and Adrian Ries of Elk Point, S.D., and Parker Knox, a community volunteer from Vermillion.

Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email
Contact Website website