Each year, Dakota Corps recipients receive funding equivalent to the cost of tuition and applicable fees at their postsecondary institution. Once graduated, they are required to enter into a critical-need occupation in South Dakota, with terms of service equivalent to the number of years they received the scholarship, plus one year. The scholarships are supported entirely by private donations and administrative responsibility for the Dakota Corps Scholarship program is overseen by the South Dakota Board of Regents.

“I congratulate these students for choosing careers in critical-need occupations,” said Gov. Dennis Daugaard. “I also want to thank all of those private businesses and nonprofit organizations that are funding these scholarships. This is a program that not only educates our students, but also keeps them in South Dakota after graduation and provides the brainpower that is essential for these critical-need occupations.”

Current occupations that qualify for Dakota Corps Scholarship support include teaching K-12 music, special education, or foreign language; teaching high school math or science; working as a licensed practical nurse, registered nurse, or in other allied health-care fields; or working as a large-animal veterinarian.

In all, 30 recent South Dakota high school graduates were awarded Dakota Corps scholarships for the 2011-12 academic year. For more information, contact the board office at 1-800-874-9033 or send an e-mail to info@sdbor.edu.

The 12 students who are enrolled at USD as new Dakota Corps Scholarship recipients are Brianna Youngstrom of Armour, S.D., Austin Wagaman, Kathryn Whisler and Benjamin Nelson of Sioux Falls, S.D., Kaylee Bahr of Aberdeen, S.D., Katey Ulrich and Abbey Ulrich of Watertown, S.D., Kyle DeLay of Beresford, S.D., Emma Smith of Huron, S.D., Brittany Dilts of Canton, S.D., Rebecca Hebda of Mission Hill, S.D. and Wyman Wenz of Britton, S.D.

Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email usdnews@usd.edu
Contact Website website