Riley Paulsen, Tyler Seidel, and Jade Fostvedt will receive $34,000 annual stipends and $12,000 cost-of-education allowances for a period of three years as they work toward their research-based master's or doctoral degrees in STEM fields.

Launched in 1952 shortly after Congress established the NSF, the GRFP represents the nation's oldest continuous investment in the U.S. STEM workforce.

"To support U.S. leadership and innovation in science and engineering, we must recognize and nurture talent from all of our nation's communities," said Jim Lewis, NSF acting assistant director for Education and Human Resources in a press release from the foundation. "I am pleased that again this year, the competition has selected talented students from all economic backgrounds and all demographic categories.”

The three USD students were selected from more than 12,000 applicants from all 50 U.S. states, as well as the District of Columbia and U.S. territories. In total, 2,000 students were awarded the fellowship and 1,459 individuals received honorable mention recognition.

Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email
Contact Website website