The advisory board, formed this fall, will provide advice, insight, guidance and feedback to the dean and faculty on strategic initiatives, opportunities, challenges and various other issues.

Premier Bankcard President and CEO Miles Beacom, for whom the USD business school is named, will serve as chairperson of the dean’s advisory board. Other members:

  • Pat Costello, commissioner of the South Dakota Governor’s Office of Economic Development, who had more than 20 years of experience in private business prior to joining Gov. Dennis Daugaard’s executive team;
  • David Knudson, senior vice president and chief legal counsel of United National Corp., who previously practiced law for 35 years and focused on health care, banking and corporate transactions;
  • JoAnn Kunkel, chief financial officer of Sanford Health, where she has held several positions since 1992 and prior to that worked in public accounting;
  • Craig Lloyd, chief executive officer and co-owner of Lloyd Cos., a leader in property management, real estate, construction and development since 1972;
  • Scott Sletten, president and chief executive officer of JDS Industries, the largest wholesaler of awards and recognition worldwide, with customers in more than 80 countries.

“In my prior experience, I have had the opportunity to work closely with several business leaders whose effective engagement has helped advance the business school, and I look forward to a similar engagement to distinguish the Beacom School of Business,” said Venky Venkatachalam, dean of the school.

The inaugural meeting of the advisory board was Dec. 2 in Sioux Falls. The next meeting will be held in spring in Vermillion at the business school.

Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email
Contact Website website