Deidre Budahl, Accounting ’02, M.B.A. ’07, a partner with Casey Peterson & Associates of Rapid City, South Dakota, was honored for outstanding service. She has been active in the South Dakota C.P.A. Society, volunteered in support of the arts and served on the board of Rapid City Regional Hospital. She helped launch the USD Summer Accounting Institute and returns to campus to mentor students.

Karen Davies, Accounting ’84, M.P.A ’89, has worked for 25 years with the University of South Dakota Foundation and is currently vice president and CFO. She was a full-time accounting instructor at the Beacom School of Business and also has taught as an adjunct in recent years. Her previous experience includes Hawkeye Bancorporation in Des Moines, Iowa, and McGladrey & Pullen, LLP in Sioux Falls, South Dakota.

Angeline Lavin, B.S. ’93, M.B.A. ’96, earned her Ph.D. in finance from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. She taught for 18 years at USD before moving into private practice as a financial advisor at RBC Wealth Management in Sioux Falls. She has served on the South Dakota Investment Council and the Sioux Falls City Employee’s Pension Board, Sioux Falls Community Foundation, board of directors for Wellmark, Inc. and the Malcolm Baldrige Foundation Investment Committee. She is currently on the USD Foundation Board.

The Distinguished Service Award went to Leon Korte, long-time accounting professor. Korte received his undergraduate degree from Northwestern (Iowa) College in 1975, an M.B.A. from Ohio University in 1979 and a Ph.D. from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln in 1992. He taught at Wayne State College in Nebraska and at the University of Nebraska-Omaha before joining the faculty at USD in 1992. In addition to work experience in auditing and consulting, Korte’s research interest is rural banking. He directs the Institute for Rural Banking, which is partially funded by the South Dakota Bankers Association.

Students receiving top performance awards:

  • Hope Erickson, Akron, Iowa
  • Wesley Hanson, Brandon, South Dakota
  • Clark Haugen, Crooks, South Dakota
  • Spencer Hopkins, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
  • Ji Young Hur, Seoul, South Korea
  • Connor Jallo, Pierre, South Dakota
  • Samantha Villwock, Lake Villa, Illinois
  • Payton Larsen, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
  • Natalie Nulle, Manning, Iowa
  • Roma Trivedi, Nairobi, Kenya
  • Conrad Adam, Pierre, South Dakota
  • Charles Frizzell, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
  • Dalton Hoekstra, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
  • Kristi Johnson, Montrose, South Dakota
  • Trenton Klimper, Vermillion, South Dakota
  • Jessica McAllister, Sioux City, Iowa
  • Mitchell Merkwan, Tyndall, South Dakota
  • Alexandra Olson, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
  • Jessica Sandbulte, Steen, Minnesota
  • Stanton Zaczek, Lemont, Illinois
  • Bruce Biegler, Timber Lake, South Dakota
  • Hyun Woong Chang, Seoul, South Korea
  • Tanner Comp, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
  • Natalie Gubbels, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
  • Toni Kafton, Mapleton, Iowa
  • Brittany Norris, Moville, Iowa
  • Sarah Ridley, Sioux Falls, South Dakota
  • Carrie Wintle, Iroquois, South Dakota

Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email
Contact Website website