Chris Hutton, JD, is the inaugural recipient of the Cutler & Donahoe Award for Excellence in Legal Education. Jacob Kerby, Ph.D., and David Holdhusen, Ph.D., have been awarded the 2014 Belbas-Larson for Excellence in Teaching Awards.

Hutton has more than 30 years of service to the USD Law School, teaching primarily in the areas of criminal law, procedure and evidence. She most recently co-authored with John Larson, the second edition of South Dakota Evidence. She chairs the State Bar Evidence Committee and was appointed by Gov. Dennis Daugaard to the Criminal Justice Advisory Council. A primary focus of her work has been teaching and mentoring generations of law students with emphasis on supporting and expanding the role of women in the law.

The Cutler & Donahoe Award was made possible through an endowed gift from the Sioux Falls law firm of Cutler & Donahoe, LLP. Download a photo of Hutton.

Kerby, who is assistant professor of biology in the USD College of Arts & Sciences, teaches biology, disease ecology and environmental toxicology and contaminants. His research focuses on aquatic communities’ stressors. He also serves as director of research for the Missouri River Institute. Download a photo of Kerby.

Holdhusen is director of choral activities and associate professor of music in the USD College of Fine Arts. He teaches courses in conducting, choral literature and techniques and applied voice. In addition, he directs USD’s annual Choral Directors Institute and the USD Summer Music Camp. Download a photo of Holdhusen.

The Belbas-Larson Awards were established by 1956 USD graduate Dean Belbas, Edina, Minn., and Harold W. and Kathryn Larson, Bemidji, Minn., and Scottsdale, Ariz.

The event is open to the public.

For additional information, contact Betsy Rice, senior marketing and communications director, at 274-7868.

Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email
Contact Website website