Forty-two graduate and undergraduate students from nine regional colleges and universities presented or commented on papers. The winning authors earned certificates and book awards, courtesy of Phi Alpha Theta, the national honor society in history.

The prize-winning students and their papers:

  • Cole Bockelmann, University of South Dakota, “The Red Scare from a Red State: Congressman Karl Mundt’s Role in Shaping Anti-Communist Cold War Policy”;
  • Brittany Cleveland, Augustana University, “The Women We Know Less Well: Mary C.W. Dennett and the American Birth Control Movement 1890-1922”;
  • Margaret Connors, Creighton University, “Hutu Power: Ethnic Nationalism and the Rwandan Genocide”;
  • Simone Hussussain, Creighton University, “The Decline of France: The Nostalgic Nationalism of the Front National”;
  • Sarah Mackeben, University of South Dakota, “The Black Death and Fourteenth-Century Warfare”;
  • Sara Owens, University of South Dakota, “The Great Potato Famine in Ireland: Who Should Hold the Blame?”

Professor Timothy Brennan, Samuel Russell Chair in the Humanities, Department of Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature and English at the University of Minnesota, delivered the opening lecture, "Future Interrupted: The Subjunctive Nationalism of M. N. Roy." Professor L Stephanie Cobb, George and Sallie Cutchin Camp Professor of Bible at the University of Richmond, delivered the closing address, "Funny Martyrs: Examining the Function of Humor in Early Christian Martyr Texts.”

The USD history department and local chapter of Phi Alpha Theta sponsored the conference.

Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email
Contact Website website