More than 200 middle school and high school students will compete in several science events. The top teams from each division will be invited to the 2010 National Science Olympiad Tournament in May.

South Dakota schools participating in this year’s event at USD include Brookings High School, Deuel Middle and High Schools, Elk Point-Jefferson Middle School, Gayville-Volin Middle and High Schools, Great Plains Lutheran High School (Watertown), Madison Middle School, McLaughlin Middle School, Mickelson Middle School (Brookings), Mitchell Middle and High Schools, Sacred Heart Middle School (Yankton), Spearfish Middle and High Schools, Timber Lake Middle School, Todd County High School, Vermillion Middle School, and Yankton Middle and High School. In addition to the ongoing competitions, there will be open house activities, including demonstrations by The Outdoor Campus.

All events for the Science Olympiad are determined at the national level. For the state tournament, faculty, staff, and students from USD organize and judge these events. The schedule with a list of events is located on the USD Web site at For a brief description of the events, please visit the national Web site at

Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email
Contact Website website