Brody Krogman, of Sioux Falls, S.D., received first place in the Freshmen Men competition. Krogman is a student of Brandon Hendrickson, D.M.A., assistant professor of Voice/Opera at USD. Jordyn Bangasser of Sioux Falls placed first in Junior Women’s Classical and honorable mention in Women’s Musical Theatre. James Cooper of Lake Ozark, Mo. was the first place finisher in the Graduate Division and Laura Bertschinger of Creighton, Neb. was first in the Adult Division. All three are students of Tracelyn Gesteland, D.M.A., assistant professor of Voice/Opera.

In all, there were 136 student entries from USD, South Dakota State University, Northern State University, Black Hills State and Augustana College. Singers competed in classical and musical theatre divisions. Additional USD finalists at NATS included Hannah Lambertz of Yankton, S.D., second place, Musical Theatre Women; Mickey McGrann of Sioux Falls, second place, Freshmen Women; and Sarah Schmidt of Sioux Falls, honorable mention, Sophomore Women. All are students in Gesteland’s studio. From Hendrickson’s studio: Jared Mogen of Sioux Falls, second place, Senior Men; Seth Pierce of Sioux Falls, second place, Freshmen Men; and Brian Rasmussen of Sioux City, Iowa, honorable mention, Musical Theatre Men.  Kristian Asfeldt of Sioux Falls, second place, Musical Theatre Men; and Christa Gesicki of Denver, Colo., honorable mention, Musical Theatre Women, are students of Matthew Nesmith, M.F.A., assistant professor of Musical Theatre.

Pianists accompanying the USD singers at the competition were Rasmussen, Becca Lunstrum of Redfield, S.D.; Qiao-Zheng Goh of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia; Christopher Larson of Holstein, Iowa; Brynn Nelson of Albion, Neb.; Spencer Smith of Hermosa, S.D.; and Karl Graber of Vermillion.

Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email
Contact Website website