Schools to be represented are Brookings High School, Dakota Valley Middle School and High School, Deuel Middle School and High School (Clear Lake), Gayville-Volin Middle School and High School, Great Plains Lutheran High School (Watertown), Madison Middle School and High School, Mickelson Middle School (Brookings), Missouri Valley Christian Academy (Yankton), Mitchell High School, Sacred Heart Middle School (Yankton), Spearfish Middle School and High School, Todd County High School (Mission), Tri-Valley High School (Colton), Vermillion Middle School, and Yankton Middle School and High School. In addition to the ongoing individual challenges and team events, there will be open house activities during the day, including demonstrations by Sanford Research and the United States Army ROTC.

The state tournament will involve more than 250 middle school and high school students competing in several science events. For the state tournament, faculty, staff and students from USD organize and judge these events. The top teams from each division will be invited to the 2012 National Science Olympiad Tournament in May. All events for the Science Olympiad are determined at the national level. A schedule of events can be found at A brief description of the events is also available at

Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email
Contact Website website