In preliminary rounds, the USD team faced teams from the University of Kansas, New York Law School and Southern Methodist University. The USD team faced SMU again in the quarterfinals, advancing to compete in the semifinals against Chicago-Kent College of Law, the ultimate winner of the competition.

“Our Moot Court teams and other co-curricular teams successfully complete with some of the biggest brand name law schools in the country. This team’s hard work can be seen in their advancement in the tournament and it’s exciting to see their hard work and dedication recognized by this award,” said Tom Geu, dean of the law school.

The John Marshall Competition places greater weight on competitors’ written briefs than do most moot court tournaments, making the experience more similar to real-life appellate practice. This year’s competition involved a dispute between a company and its former CEO over their respective rights in a folder labelled “personal” on the CEO’s workplace computer and in two social media accounts used by the CEO for business and personal purposes.

Download a photo of Hoffman (left), Fey and Schroeder.

About The School of Law

The University of South Dakota School of Law provides a high-quality legal education that prepares students for leadership in the administration of justice in South Dakota and for success in private practice, public service, business and other law-related endeavors anywhere. For information about the USD School of Law, please contact Associate Dean Tiffany Graham at or (605) 677-5393.

Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email
Contact Website website