The Higher Learning Commission is one of six accrediting agencies in the United States that provide institutional accreditation on a regional basis. Institutional accreditation evaluates an entire institution and accredits as a whole. The Commission, recognized by the U.S. Department of Education, accredits close to 1,100 institutions of higher education in a 19-state region.

For the past two years, USD has been engaged in a process of self-study, addressing the Commission’s requirements and criteria for accreditation. The evaluation team will visit campus to gather evidence that USD’s self-study is thorough and accurate. At the conclusion of its visit, the team will recommend to the Commission a continuing status for the college; following a review process, the Commission itself will take the final action. USD was most recently awarded reaccreditation by the HLC in 2001.

The public is invited to submit comments to the HLC regarding The University of South Dakota:

Public Comment on The University of South Dakota

The Higher Learning Commission
230 South LaSalle St., Suite 7-500
Chicago, IL 60604

Comments must address substantive matters related to the quality of the institution or its academic programs. Written, signed comments must be received by March 15. The Commission cannot guarantee that comments received after the due date will be considered. Comments should include the name, address and telephone number of the person providing the comments as comments will not be treated as confidential.

Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email
Contact Website website