Larson was named associate dean of the USD’s School of Health Sciences in 2009, having been steadily promoted since she first joined USD as an instructor of nursing in 1980. She served as chair of the department of nursing from 1998-2009, leading the program to achieve status as a NLN Center of Excellence (COE) in nursing education. Larson is a national consultant to other nursing programs regarding curriculum and accreditation.

In 2005, she became a Certified Nurse Educator and was elected to the NLN Nursing Education Advisory Council in 2006. In 2008, Larson was inducted into the NLN’s Academy of Nursing Education, highlighting her contributions to the field. Other honors include the Pioneer in Nursing Award from the South Dakota Nurses Association (2008) and the YWCA Tribute to Women (2009). A past president of the South Dakota Board of Nursing, Larson is currently the board's vice president. A photo of Larson is available at

USD’s School of Health Sciences has nine programs offering bachelor of science degrees in alcohol and drug studies, dental hygiene, health sciences, medical laboratory science, nursing, and social work; an associate of science degree in nursing; master of science degrees in occupational therapy and physician assistant studies; master of social work; master of arts in addiction studies; and a doctorate of physical therapy degree. For more information about USD’s School of Health Sciences, please visit or call (605) 677-5000.

Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email
Contact Website website