Authors published in the magazine will be invited to read their work at the reception. The VLP will also announce USD/English department creative writing student awards. The awards ceremony will be followed by a poetry slam – open to anyone. Poets planning to slam should bring three poems. Prizes will be awarded to slam winners.

"We're excited about the magazine," says Marcella Remund, VLP faculty adviser. "Our editorial team's vision of ‘desire and absence’ is drawn from a thread running through the impressive works selected, and it gives the magazine an amazing sense of unity."

Writers featured in this year’s issue include: Sheila Black, Paula Kostel, Andy Thorstenson, Gertrude Johnson, Bruce Roseland, Fiona Valentine, Chuck Holmes, David Donaldson, Maureen Flannery, Joan Mazza, Gary Ellenbolt, Kevin Cole, Terri Fried, Anthony Miller, Taylor Geu, Zonnie Oakie, Mary Begley, D. A. Hickman, Gordon Scott Morrison and Ryan Allen. Art for the magazine was contributed by Danny Grindle, Annie Christain, Joe Night, David Kahle and John Banasiak.

The VLP magazine, published annually for more than 20 years, features poetry, short fiction, creative non-fiction and artwork by South Dakota writers and artists, as well as writers and artists from around the world. People who are unable to attend the reception but who would still to purchase a copy of the magazine can do so by sending a check for $10 per copy, plus $3 each for shipping, to the VLP, Dakota Hall 212, USD/English, 414 E Clark, Vermillion SD 57069-2390.

For information on poetry slams, go to: or please contact Remund at

Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email
Contact Website website