Watch the spelling bee live at UniversityofSouthDakota/Live



USD is proud to sponsor the Scripps Spelling Bee for the state of South Dakota. Schools enrolled in the Scripps Spelling Bee program send three contestants to their assigned regional spelling bee. Regional spelling bees are held in the following cities:

  • Mitchell
  • Rapid City
  • Sioux Falls
  • Vermillion
  • Watertown

The top three contestants from each regional advance to the USD Scripps Spelling bee in Vermillion, where the state's best spellers compete at USD to determine who will represent the state at the Scripps National Spelling Bee in Washington, D.C. 


Contact Information

Marie Anne Ben, 605-658-6282 or by email at

Regional Spelling Bee Sponsor Contacts

Rapid City

Carrie Berard

Sioux Falls

Nels Truelson


Pam Catalano


Gary Grewing

Kasey Chapin

Past State Champions

  • 2017 - Nana Addo, Dakota Dunes, S.D. (Dakota Valley Jr. High School)
  • 2016 - Logan Gregg, Vermillion, S.D. (Vermillion Middle School)
  • 2015 - Owen Dudley, Vermillion, S.D. (Vermillion Middle School)
  • 2014 - Antonio Lansang, Brookings, S.D. (George S. Mickelson Middle School)
  • 2013 - Max Oesterling, Custer, S.D. (SD Christian Home Education Association)
  • 2012 - Maria Bragar- Henebry, Garretson, S.D. (Greater Sioux Falls Home School Association)