Skip to main content

Students walking up stairway to class

The following is a brief timeline of the major changes and events that have demonstrated a drive to meet the educational needs of Sioux Falls and the local community.

  • 1992. Officially established by the South Dakota Board of Regents (SDBOR) as the Center for Public Higher Education (CPHE) to recognize the work of Dakota State University (DSU), South Dakota State University (SDSU), and the University of South Dakota (USD) at the Bergeland Center in downtown Sioux Falls.
  • 1995. Dr. Judy Nissen named head of CPHE.
  • June 1999. SDBOR approves building agreement with the Sioux Falls School Board to centralize operations of CPHE from 18 different locations across Sioux Falls to a newly constructed facility at Southeast Technical Institute.
  • January 2001. CPHE relocates to the campus of STI.
  • June 2001. CPHE becomes USD.SDSU.DSU at Sioux Falls, with an expanded mission of research and economic development.
  • June 2001. Dr. Judy Nissen retires from USD.SDSU.DSU at Sioux Falls.
  • September 2001. Mr. Mark Lee named as Executive Dean of USD.SDSU.DSU at Sioux Falls.
  • January 2002. USD.SDSU.DSU at Sioux Falls is renamed USDSU.
  • March 2006. Legislative approval to accept grant funding, acquire land, and construct two buildings to provide a permanent new location for public higher education in Sioux Falls.
  • August 2006. The South Dakota Board of Regents rename USDSU as University Center Sioux Falls (UCSF) in recognition of the collaborative efforts of all six public universities at the site.
  • January 2009. Opened the Administration and Classroom building (FADM) at 4801 North Career Avenue.
  • April 2009. Occupied the second campus facility, the Graduate Education and Applied Research (GEAR) building.
  • August 2011. Opened third facility, the Science and Technology Classroom building (FSC1).
  • August 2012. SDBOR adopts UC Foundations program, reducing tuition for general education courses, in hopes of stabilizing declining enrollments.
  • June 2013. Enrollment declines continue.
  • August 2013. Mark Lee resigns as Executive Dean of UCSF.
  • March 2014. Dr. Craig Johnson named Executive Director of UCSF, reporting administratively to USD President Dr. James Abbot.
  • October 2015. SDBOR meets with numerous business leaders in a Sioux Falls Public Higher Education Planning Meeting. Group identified changes that would stabilize UCSF and support local workforce needs.
  • April 2016. Governance, funding and operations model modified by adoption of a new three-year Memorandum of Understanding (MOU). USD identified as lead institution for UCSF. Based on community feedback, new focus on two-year associate degree programs to provide in-demand workforce skills was identified. Four-year and graduate-degree programs also maintained, based on local needs and demand.
  • June 2017. With the engagement of internal and external stakeholders, a Future Works planning consultant established new organizational vision, values, and mission statements for UCSF. The resulting market and needs assessment suggested becoming more “community college like”. A strategic business plan with recommendations for changes was developed based on this direction.
  • June 2018. Dr. Craig Johnson resigns as Executive Director of UCSF.
  • July 2018. Dr. Michael Card named interim Executive Director of UCSF.
  • October 2018. Parameters established by SDBOR for updates to MOU governing operations of UCSF.
  • January 2019. Dr. Carmen Simone begins tenure as Executive Director of UCSF.
  • April 2019. Community College for Sioux Falls officially established through agreement among USD, SDSU and DSU. All three institutions will continue to provide baccalaureate completion degrees, building on the two-year associate degrees available on site. New MOU adopted following SDBOR approval. The USD Community College for Sioux Falls was established, which will provide all general education coursework for authorized degrees.
  • May 2019. The USD Community College for Sioux Falls plans to provide two-year transferable associate degrees, noncredit workforce education for local businesses, noncredit community education classes for retirees, four-year completion degrees, and specific graduate programs. Partnerships with SDSU, DSU and STI will be critical for success.