Contact Us

Avera Behavioral Health Center, Sanford School of Medicine
4400 W. 69th St.
Sioux Falls, SD 57108
Office Hours
Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Welcome to the Department of Psychiatry

Our attending physicians highly value teaching and equipping students and resident physicians for their future careers as physicians. Third-year medical students participate in a psychiatric care clerkship in outpatient/inpatient settings and advance to selected psychiatry electives during their fourth year in the program.

Educational support is also provided to many physician assistant students who complete their behavioral health rotation in psychiatry.

Superlative care, experience and training enhance our residency program and the child and adolescent psychiatry fellowship. A range of continuing medical education activities, sponsored special lectures and conferences are also provided throughout the year.

Meet the Department

The Department of Psychiatry consists of several supportive psychiatrists, psychologists, social workers, researchers, administrators, faculty and staff. We provide exceptional education in a high demand, instructional and clinical environment for medical students, resident physicians and fellows.
Bio Image for Faculty Member Timothy Soundy

Timothy Soundy

Chair, Psychiatry
Faculty Default

Shawn Van gerpen

Associate Professor
Bio Image for Faculty Member Marsha Rist

Marsha Rist

Program Assistant II
Bio Image for Faculty Member Erin Boggs

Erin Boggs

Senior Secretary


Explore the variety of opportunities and resources available to psychiatry students.

Take the Next Step