The Us med school alumni council present annual awards

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. -- The Sanford School of Medicine of The University of South Dakota and the medical school’s Alumni Relations Council recently presented the following annual awards:

Dean’s Academic Achievement Award

Keith McCollister, M.D.; Tara Miller

2009 Leonard Tow-Humanism in Medicine Award

Sponsored by: Arnold P. Gold Foundation

Student Recipient: Carl Dean, M.D.

Faculty Recipient: Kevin Whittle, M.D.

The Chester McVay Award for Teaching and Research Excellence

Recipient: James W. Wallace, M.D.

Anton Hyden Award

Recipient: Matthew Simmons, M.D.

James E. Ryan, M.D., Department of Family Medicine Award

Recipient: Colleen Zimmermann, M.D.

Alumni Student Scholars

Jay Bauder, M.D.; Meghan Behrmann, M.D.; Justin Elhoff, M.D.;

Ashley Gilchrist, M.D.; Keith McCollister, M.D.

Satish Koneru Award for Excellence in Physiology

Samantha Hersrud, MS1

George Rinker Award for Excellence in Anatomy

Samantha Hersrud, MS1

Class of 1958 Basic Science Faculty Award

Curtis Kost Jr., Ph.D.

Class of 1983 Clinical Faculty Award

Thomas Braithwaite, ‘82, M.D.

Warren L. Jones, M.D., Class of 1954 Faculty Award

David Brechtelsbauer, M.D.

2009 Distinguished Alumni Award

Richard Porter, ‘61, M.D.

Dr. Michael S. McHale Excellence in Diagnostic Skills Scholarship

Justin Elhoff, M.D.

George Rinker Award in Anatomy

Tara Miller

Oty Kittelson Memorial Award

Wallace (Skipper) Fritz, M.D.

Satish Koneru Award

Tara Miller

Award of Excellence in Pediatrics

Justin Elhoff, M.D.

Frances O. & F. Ellis Kelsey Award in Pharmacology

Sarah Wierda, M.D.; Douglas Lynch, M.D.

Karl Wegner Award for Excellence in Pathology

Douglas Lynch, M.D.; Robert Miller, M.D.

LCM Pathologists Awards for Honors in Pathology

Tara Miller; Keith McCollister, M.D.

Endocrine Society Medical Student Achievement Award

Abbey Mello, M.D.