In the Video Category of the competition, Nick Anson of Canton, S.D., received first place for his U. News Nov. 19, 2008 newscast while four students were first place finishers in the Text and Website categories. David Whitesock of Thompson, N.D., received a first place for The Volante Online and Michelle Rydell of Vermillion won first place in the Feature Text category for her article, "Coach's Family Stays Strong, Hopes for Medical Miracle," which appeared in the Oct. 5, 2008 issue of The Volante. Matt Dahlseid of Bloomfield, Neb., received a first place in Sports Text for "Looking Back on Greatness," an Oct. 15, 2008 story in The Volante while Sarah Reinecke of Sioux Falls, S.D., received a first place in the News Text competition for her Nov. 25, 2008 article "21-shot Ritual Poses Dangers, State Laws Aim to Curb Binge Drinking."

Reinecke was also one of six USD students receiving honorable mention at the student awards competition. Reinecke received honorable mention for her article, "Chasing a Cure." Other students earning honorable mention for their work included Kristen Whitman of Council Bluffs, Iowa, and Andrew Dykstra of Alcester, S.D., for their U. News March 5, 2009 newscast; Sara McIntosh of Sioux City, Iowa, for her video news story "Food for Fines" and Sarah Paulus of Little Canada, Minn., for her article "Sharing a Dream." Jenifer Jones of Milbank, S.D., received three honorable mentions in Audio for her news story "Indian Women's Health," and two feature stories "Myrtle Bunting" and "YA Cancer."

First place winners each receive a $25 cash prize along with a certificate. The contest was judged by AP-members, including broadcasters and editors, from South Dakota and North Dakota.

For more information about USD Contemporary Media & Journalism, please visit the department’s Web site at or e-mail the department at

Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email
Contact Website website