Three alumni were recognized for their career accomplishments and outstanding service to the accounting and finance division of the Beacom School of Business, including:

  • Glen Herrick, ’04, is the executive vice president and chief financial officer of Meta Financial Group, headquartered in Sioux Falls, South Dakota. Prior to joining Meta in 2013, Herrick spent 20 years at Wells Fargo serving in various finance, corporate treasury and risk management roles, including as CFO of Wells Fargo’s $30 billion student loan division. Herrick currently serves on the Dean’s Advisory Board at the University of South Dakota Beacom School of Business.
  • Derrick Larson, ’96, is a partner-in-charge at Eide Bailly in Sioux Falls, South Dakota, and manages a team of more than 100 partners and staff, while continuing to serve clients. Larson specializes in providing audit and consulting services in the renewable energy, telecommunications and electric utility industries. Larson is a certified public accountant licensed in South Dakota and is a member of the South Dakota CPA Society and the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants.
  • Jacob Wurth, ’02, is a corporate controller at Raven Industries. Wurth oversees the accounting functions in the U.S., Europe and Brazil. He is responsible for the corporate close process, technical accounting, and internal and external financial reporting. He is also the project lead on implementing a new company-wide enterprise resource planning system. Wurth is a certified public accountant and certified internal auditor.

Top performance awards were presented to 26 students based on their academic achievements, community involvement, membership in USD’s accounting and finance organizations and community service activities. Students recognized were nominated by accounting and finance faculty after submitting applications and resumes for top performance awards consideration. 

Students receiving top performance awards included:

  • Jonna Bart
  • Levi Blanchard
  • Logan Bunkers
  • August Crowley
  • Bethany DeGroot
  • Haley Duffield
  • TJ Gleason
  • McKenna Golden
  • Ivy Haines
  • Gage Hillberg
  • Elizabeth Holzkamm
  • Hannah Johnson
  • Logan Johnson
  • Kelsi Kearney
  • Khan Abraham
  • Mathew Kraines
  • Erin Kueter
  • Jacob Leiseth
  • David Moerman
  • Tate Olsen
  • Nicholas Page
  • Zachary Renken
  • Katherine Rhoads-Mullin
  • Logan Schiebout
  • Ryan Scholten
  • Madison Weber
Press Contact
Hanna DeLange
Contact Email
Contact Website website